Getting it right

Nothing is more frustrating for a person who loves cooking than a dish that refuses to turn up right inspite of numerous tries, especially if it is a dish like the humble poha.

Ever since I learnt that my roommate (Salz) knew how to cook just two dishes – omelette and poha, I have been trying to learn the latter from her.

I remember the first time I tried it, I got a very interesting smell from the kitchen, something I have never smelt in there previously- the fragrance of burnt rubber. The second time I got a congealed mess that refused to come off the frying pan without a mini-wrestling match.
The third time I tried, I had something that resembled Rasam rice, another speciality of mine.
All in all, not very good results, you would agree.

I definitely loved Salz and her darling fiance who gamely ate it all each time and begged Salz to stop letting me cook for him anymore. I never asked him if he liked it, I couldn’t force the poor chap to be polite after having been so sweet as to finish everything I served him. πŸ™‚

But today, I tried the dish for my parents and it actually came out beautifully – fluffy and tasted good too!

So that’s my nemesis when it comes to food and I conquered it today, a certain roomie would have been so proud of me if she had tasted it!

What a wonderful feeling it is to know you got something right after so many attempts! This made my day today!

Edit: And someone just reminded me of this one where I moaned the fact that I still couldn’t get Poha! Thanks S!

6 thoughts on “Getting it right

  1. Sweet! This reminds me of the seven times I tried making cheesecake before FINALLY achieving some semblance to it! πŸ˜€

    Go girl!

    Suraksha,
    Does it mean I get to taste some great cheesecake soon? I would kill for that stuff!
    CR

    Like

  2. @CR:
    Surely, the next time we meet! And great or not is for you to decide. πŸ˜›

    [Like the funda of replying inside the comment. A lil painful, though, no?]

    Am sure it would be great
    And commenting inside is a bit painful, but I find it easier to manage than writing a new comment for each person.
    πŸ™‚
    CR

    Like

  3. oh I know what you mean !!

    me love kande-pohe and getting poha to eat in chennai is like ..so very exciting ..:D

    I know
    My parents were wondering what the dish that I was serving them was πŸ˜›
    CR

    Like

  4. Finally…………….

    I so wish i was there to taste the poha..

    Congratulations dear πŸ™‚

    Thanks
    Knew you would be so proud πŸ˜€
    And it tasted real nice (even if I do say so myself πŸ™‚ )
    CR

    Like

Leave a Reply

