Mortgages, debt and writing

Getting into long term debt is scary and exhilarating at the same time.
I am going in for my first mortgage sometime next week and I am thrilled, especially since the interiors are going to be designed by my sister and me, so yay, another profession calls me if I don’t do so well in my current one.

That said, doing the interiors on a shoe-string budget may not be a walk in paradise, so be prepared for more ranting on this blog. 😛

(Psst, has anyone noticed the lack of ranting of late? Nope, this is not because I have turned into a sunny person, rather lack of time, too much work and all, capiche?)

Some of my dreams, like becoming a full-time writer will be put on hold since the amount I need to shell out per month is never going to be possible unless I work like a dog (which I already am, come to think of it). I hate the fact that this means putting a lot of ideas on the side-burner, such as launching that school I keep dreaming of, a round the world trip focussing on the old civilizations – Mayan, Aztec, Incan, Rome, Scotland, Ireland, France, the ruins of Pompei (the list goes on..), but this is for my parents (and my taxes of course 😛 ) and I think the wait will be worth it. I am only putting these plans on a frozen page and will defrost them once I get back to that page!

Regarding the writing, a close friend of mine knows I have been toying with the idea of becoming a writer, but I do not think I am good enough yet to plunge into it. I am fine-tuning (and hopefully I am becoming better at it), but am not yet interested in getting published. Writing for the sake of writing may sound cliched, but that’s exactly what I want to do. Unfortunately, I also know that this means having a bit of blunt saved and put aside and I am working towards that.

Am I doing the right thing, going into a venture that guarantees that I spend atleast 10 years repaying a bank, maybe not or maybe yes. But it is for a family that has given me everything I can ever need – love, education, freedom to think and more importantly has cherished me through every part of my life, so I am excited to be able to do something for them finally!

5 thoughts on “Mortgages, debt and writing

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey

    Thanks Tim.
    CR

    Like

  2. oh you bought up mortgages, I am really scared by it, looking at the conditions IT industry is right now, its damn scary

    I agree that it seems wierd to go in for one now.
    However, I am in an industry that benefits where there is a slow-down 😀
    CR

    Like

  3. Whoa, whoa. Big steps. Good luck, girl – and have a lotta fun on the way! 😀

    Speaking of writers-to-be, d’you do the NaNoWriMo every year?

    Thanks. Will try having some fun without too many headaches 😀
    And no, I don’t do it, erm…I actually do not know what it is either 😛
    CR

    Like

Leave a Reply

