Erased in a day

I am sitting here again
Looking at an empty screen
Wondering if I can dare to call you
Remembering the words exchanged
Not to each other
But through common acquaintances
I miss you so much
Looking at a cheeky grin
Hearing you laugh aloud
And crack atrocious jokes;

An empty screen,
Everything erased in a day
Fond memories, dinners and laughter shared;
Everything erased in a day
Of tears, incriminations and soul-searching;
Everything erased in a day
Because you did not know the real me;
Everything erased in a day
When you decided you believed someone else even after knowing me;
Everything erased in a day
A day that I wish could be brought back;

But I wonder why
I wish so
For even if the clock turned
By some magical whim
I would behave the same
And I bet so would you
For even if time forgives and decides to give us another chance
We would need to be different people to act differently this time around

Funny that you should have given me a compliment
Of being the one who would always be “best friends forever”
And then erase everything in a day
Leaving behind an empty screen.

Leave a Reply

