Times

There are times when I think of that moment
When I saw your bleary eyes
Blink away the last trace of tiredness
Even as you came to pick me up
In the breadth of a phone call

There are times when I dread that moment
When I forgot that you were only human
And expected you to live up to expectations
I chartered in dreamland
While obscuring reality

There are times when I wanted to say
What it meant to me
To know you would still rush to my side
Inspite of the blood I know I draw
With every unfair little demand

There are times when I just wanted to pray
That you stayed by my side another day
And each time I hear a death knell
Knowing what I mean to you
Knowing you will never know what you mean to me.

2 thoughts on “Times

Leave a Reply

