For Galahad

A familiar “handle”
Makes me pause for a bit
And remember again;
A curve of a dimple
Confuses me for a whit
And I try to scrub away the stain;
A stain caused by many an ill-used phrase
That still leave behind a horrid taint
Of despair and despondence;
If I said “I long for your familiar face”
Rendered unfamiliar due to practise of an unnatural restraint
Marked by the absence of our daily correspondence
Would you step back to me?
Or would you step away
Just like you did the other day?

2 thoughts on “For Galahad

Leave a Reply

