It’s summer again

For Writer’s Island combining the prompts of Impulse , Betrayal and Liberation:

This feeling of euphoria and ecstasy

Has turned me into someone I know not;

Strangely liberating is this moment

Knowing that I dictate my life;

Too long have I wallowed in depression

Suppressed by self-doubt and expectations

Of others;

There is free air around now

And a glorious summer day

Awaits

For me to fill in the hours

With fun, music, laughter, love;

I have smiled at strangers today

And watched their surprise and joy

While smiling back

What joy there is in spreading cheer;

There is adventure in the air

I can sniff it, almost smell it now

A feeling of mirth and joy

Understanding that being me

Isn’t a betrayal of another’s expectations;

Laughter has found its place again

As I glory

At being alive

At simply being me

Finally

Rather than what someone wants me to be

10 thoughts on “It’s summer again

  1. argh! now u dedicate an entire blog post to summer and sunshine >:-(
    how could u? 😥
    i hate u!

    CD, not easy to curb one’s impulses eh?
    😛
    CR

    Like

  2. “I have smiled at strangers today

    And watched their surprise and joy

    While smiling back”

    thats simply too nice..

    btw did you try?..I am sure you know what I am asking 🙂

    Rambler,
    hu-hum. Will tell you that later sometime 🙂
    CR

    Like

  3. Amen, Chennai, and welcome back to the sunny side. If you’re smiling at people in India, I know the response well, and it lights up life. There is nothing as bright as a frown going to a smile in India.

    Thank You Richard. It seems like you do know a bit of India, you are right, it is quite a heartening sight at times
    CR

    Like

  4. Smiling at strangers can be liberating yes….and when they smile back…you know the chain has started…
    you’ve described the summer sunshine so well…

    **Understanding that being me
    Isn’t a betrayal of another’s expectations;**

    Very true…and well said

    prats35,
    thank you. And it is a wonderful feeling 🙂
    CR

    Like

  5. sunny side up 🙂 makes me fell goooooooood
    yeh it’s always good to be up n running- it feels colorful to be positive n spread teh joy..
    there’s no point in being a sore thumb neways!

    Jane
    Thank You
    And it is great reading so many positive comments on this blog after a long time, the fault lying entirely of course with the owner of the blog 😛
    I agree, sore thumbs are a no-no in this world 🙂
    CR

    Like

  6. theres nothing like spreading the cheer huh? 🙂 and, i see ‘chennai’ in the comment above.. if you can smile at people in this heat, kudos to you!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

