The fallen woman (HIV + )

They threw sticks and stones

And called her names

I saw her standing there

Still

Ethereal

Bleeding

As the missiles hit their mark;

Silent

Fists clenched tightly

She refused to bend her head;

Infuriated

Intoxicated

By the others around

One stabbed her;

And as she lay there bleeding

They ran;

I walked to her

And crouched

She smiled at me

And said;

“It doesn’t hurt really”

And closed her eyes;

I saw her husband

Cowering behind a wall

And he said,

“Well, she deserved it”

And spat and walked on;

“What will you do?”

“Nothing. So what if I have it,

She shouldn’t have got it

It shows her lack of morals

And am sure she gave it to me anyway”

2 thoughts on “The fallen woman (HIV + )

Leave a Reply

