Pushing Myself

I pushed myself today

And adrenaline gushed through my veins

I felt myself stretched and waited for the inevitable break

I looked around and could see through my hands

Stretched paper thin;

I panicked as I realised

That the pulse of my heart

Was out of tune with my breath;

My heart beats built to a crescendo that deafened me;

I saw the world tilt and felt my feet slip;

I clawed and scratched trying to get a grip

And realised that there was no friction to be felt anywhere;

And so I pushed myself more

Felt the air around me shatter

And was reborn, stronger.

One thought on “Pushing Myself

Leave a Reply

